Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-03-2010, 07:29 PM   #1
Inactive Account

need Gemini 2X Tele Converter Help

I am a novice owner of Kx and just purchased a Gemini tele converter for Pentax and cannot get the camera to take a picture with it. I do not know what to do other then go to C4 of the custom section #22 and change permission.
I would appreciate any help in layman's terms.

Thanks for your expertise!

03-03-2010, 07:52 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are a few possible problems. The first one that occurs to me is that your camera is set to auto-focus and the teleconverter does not have the screwdrive connection for autofocus. Simply switching the AF switch to MF should allow you to take a photo if this is true, but it'll be an out-of-focus photo.

The other possibilities depend on which lens you're using and what signals and connections the converter can pass to the camera. Does it have a row of electrical contacts near the locking pin slot, similar to your camera mount?
03-03-2010, 08:23 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Are you the bidder who picked it off ebay in December for $9.88? Just wondering.
It has no contacts but as Dave said you can try switching to "M" mode and take some pictures. You will have to treat it as a purely manual lens so look for the help article on the forum to get you started with manual lenses.

Here is where you start...and welcome to the forum!

Remember, treat it as a K or M lens only. https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/59287-shooting-manua...x-dslrs-f.html
03-04-2010, 06:30 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I did not see any contacts so I did assume that it has to be operated manually. I did finally get a couple of picture but, it does not take them every time the shutter button is pressed it seems to be hit or miss.
Thanks for your help!

03-04-2010, 06:35 AM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster