Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2007, 08:06 PM   #1

PhotoZone.DE slams DA 50-200mm on inconsistent IQ ...

Well, PhotoZone.DE finally got its DA 50-200mm f/4.0-5.6 repaired and guess what? They didn't like it ...
Pentax SMC-DA 50-200mm f/4-5.6 ED - Photozone Review / Test Report

I don't know if they were influenced by the fact that they received a defective model originally, or if it was truly poor for them. In looking at their photos, I agree, they've got some various inperfections in image quality -- virtually none of which I'm getting with mine. Hmmm, interesting, I guess I really got a "good one" then? BTW, it was nice to note the bokeh was well-liked on the unit, and I've used it to take pictures of even small flowers to much enjoyment of the results. Not a macro, but still looks good IMHO -- for a lens I got for sub-$100 after $150 rebate.

I'm not a pro or even an amateur for that matter, but I don't see myself buying anything else. It's small, is great for shooting anything non-wide angle (I wouldn't use it a lot at 50mm, but it's great 75mm+), etc...

Other options to compare to that are $500 or under and offer at least a 200mm long end ...
- sub-$200 Pentax AF-J 75-300mm: Heard to be generally disappointing
- $200+ Pentax AF 80-320mm: No better than the DA 50-200mm, sometimes softer at 200mm
- sub-$200 Tamron 70-300mm: Reviews vary in comparison to DA 50-200mm, many like the Macro
- $400 Tamron 28-300mm: Generally considered junk, all models (maybe 2nd to last "Di" is best?)
- $400 Tamron 18-200mm: Generally considered not worth it, at least compared to ...
- $500 Tamron 18-250mm: If you want an "all-in-one" zoom, this is it, but several seem to prefer the IQ of the DA 50-200mm
- Others? Sigmas?

I still love my DA 50-200mm and don't see myself changing, at least not until the planned DA 55-300mm comes out (if it does). Is anyone else in the same boat?

07-07-2007, 08:22 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery