Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2010, 11:51 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
F 35-70 worth repairing?

I have a F-35-70 that is mostly in great condition except there are some spots inside the lens. I think it is oil, doesn't look like fungus.
Is it possible/worth repairing it?

Thanks

Swift1

03-12-2010, 05:22 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Good question. I have no experience with the lens myself but, judging from the reviews, it seems like it's a better lens than the market value might suggest. It depends on how much repair would cost, of course, but I have a bias toward the preservation of good glass
03-12-2010, 06:30 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I got mine for $10 on eBay, and it's in nearly perfect shape other than a minor cosmetic blemish (rubber inset with serial number has slightly raised corners). Seems to me it would be a lot less hassle to just find another one. There's no lack of them, and they're often found as the kit lens on broken cameras.
03-12-2010, 10:42 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I got mine from a forum member, and it cost me $35 shipped. I just checked on Ebay, and there's one there now:

F35-70 link

I really like this lens!

03-12-2010, 11:50 AM   #5
Pentaxian

The repair costs likely exceed the price of the lens, one big reason I started doing my own repairs. For me, the question becomes "can I get this thing apart without wrecking it and together without missing pieces?"

The rear-most element in the A and F 35-70s is easy to get to; it's in the mount. You'll have to follow similar procedures for removing and reinstalling the mount like in this article. The next three elements are in a group that unscrews as a unit. Probably the front elements are accessible from the front.
03-13-2010, 11:03 PM   #6
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Thanks for the replies everyone. Is there anyone who services these lenses?

Swift1
03-14-2010, 08:34 AM   #7