Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-13-2010, 09:36 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
New Kx and lens question.

Hello everyone. I've been away from the forum for a while, but there's so much great information here, I wanted to tap your collective brains.
I currently own a K100D with several of the DA series lenses, including the DA 18-55 kit lens. I just purchased a Kx camera (not here yet) with a DA-L 18-55 kit lens with the idea that I'd use my K100d for work (I'm a building designer) and the Kx for personal use. I like landscape and architectural photography.
On to my question. Which lens should I use for the Kx? Keep the DA series lens for use on the Kx, or go ahead and use the DA-L it comes with? I know the "L" stands for "Limited", but I can't tell in what way. Which lens is better? I don't need a really great lens for work, so which ever is the better lens is the one I want for personal use. I've searched the forum and read the reviews for both lenses but need some comparison between the two lenses. Thanks for your help.

03-13-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Umm...

I might be wrong on this but I thought the DA limited are identified as DA*
And DA L lens are the ones that come from the Kit with the camera body.

The DA L lens are plastic mount, do not have quick shift technology, and are not weatherproof. While the DA* (limited) lens have all of that extra goodies.

I might be wrong though.
03-13-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
Damn Brit

Moved to Lens forum this question isn't about the camera.

OP, please be careful where you start threads. Thanks.
03-13-2010, 10:41 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
the L in DA L doesn't really stand for anything, but it does mean "super cheap version". It has a plastic lens mount, no included lens hood, and some other budget features.

QuoteOriginally posted by epqwerty Quote
I might be wrong on this but I thought the DA limited are identified as DA*