Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-15-2010, 11:01 PM   #1

Next "Must Have" Lens?

Hey all,

As mentioned in my first post...I'm new to SLR's and am looking forward to utilizing this forum to learn the ropes.

Although I know I have a long way to go with the two kit DA L lenses that came with my K-X (18-55 & 55-300), I simply would like to ask;

What would be the next truly "must have" lense(s) for one's camera bag?

Overall, I'm most interested in shooting landscapes...and would like the ability to shoot superb night shots.

I would love to hear your opinions and why. Please share!

Thank you kindly.

03-15-2010, 11:08 PM   #2

I would look into getting a wide angle lens as the widest you have at the moment is 18 mm. If you want zoom you could look at either the sigma 10 -20 which has quite a cult following, or the Pentax 12-24. The Pentax has good reviews, but is also quite a bit more expensive than the Sigma. If you're willing to give prime lenses a go, you should also concider the Pentax DA 15mm ltd, which seems to be getting great reviews, although I've never tried it myself.
03-15-2010, 11:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by MotoJB Quote
Hey all,

As mentioned in my first post...I'm new to SLR's and am looking forward to utilizing this forum to learn the ropes.

Although I know I have a long way to go with the two kit DA L lenses that came with my K-X (18-55 & 55-300), I simply would like to ask;

What would be the next truly "must have" lense(s) for one's camera bag?

Overall, I'm most interested in shooting landscapes...and would like the ability to shoot superb night shots.

I would love to hear your opinions and why. Please share!

Thank you kindly.
The range of your kit lenses covers a fair ground.

My advice is shoot shoot shoot with what you have got and then after a while you will see what focal length is your most used.