Pentax DA 50-200mm 36.00%
Pentax DA 55-300mm 3978.00%
Voters: 50. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2010, 09:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Which lens?

I'm sorry to bother you guys again, I'm just a really bad decision maker (also a really smart buyer!).

Currently I have about 100$ and I still need some filters, batteries, and blah blah blahs.

So I'm not sure on this but... The Tamron 70-300mm? Pentax DA 50-200mm? or Pentax DA 55-300mm?

Tamron is $140ish. DA 50-200mm is also $140ish and the 55-300mm is about 200-300$ more than those.

I am still a beginner so, should I...
a) Get the Tamron
b) Settle for a lower focal range like the DA 50-200mm
c) Save up for a 55-300mm but at the expense of waiting a long long long time (half a year maybe or more)

Still debating...

EDIT: Actually speaking of my birthday... I *COULD* pull some strings to get the 55-300mm in april.
EDIT: the actual price of the DA 55-300mm over here with the $50 rebate is $450 and with the tax it would be approx $510 which makes it about 3.6 times the price of either of those two...

So now it REALLY makes me think whether the IQ and PF occurrence rate is worth it on the PENTAX.

Last edited by NecroticSoldier; 03-19-2010 at 07:54 AM. Reason: Adding...
03-16-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you are just buying gear because you like it, get the one that makes you happy. Otherwise consider your specific requirements and fit a lens to them.
Do you NEED 300mm?
Do you NEED 50mm?
Is size/weight a consideration?
Do you NEED WR?
Do you need the sharpest shots possible for cropping?
If your budget does not allow for the 55-300 for 18 months then its not an option is it? Get something to last 18 months and then sell it.
In other words...why are you buying a lens?
03-16-2010, 10:24 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by imtheguy Quote