Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-29-2010, 07:21 AM   #1
Keebler

hoya Pro1 vs S-HMC filters

Hi again folks,

I'm trying to learn so much that I've stressed myself out trying to find answers

i'm looking at buying the DA14 (if you've seen my other post). Looks like a great lens. A bit concerned about the size carrying around, but I can't really afford to spend more (plus I do like the wide angle).

Which leads to me to the question of a filter. I certainly don't want to spend $650 or so and NOT put a filter on it. Especially considering I'll be using it outside alot for landscapes etc..

I did run a search in this forum, but there were some older threads and one had a promising link, but it doesn't work anymore Anything on Google is older and doesn't contain anything specific.

I can't remember which one it is, but one of the Hoya filters is $130'ish and the other is (gulp) $250'ish.

I'm still a noob at all of this, but I do understand the better filters (supposedly) let in more light. Also, it appears that both the Pro1 and S-HMC filters are multi-coated.

Cost is a bit of a concern, but on the same side, I'm not against buying the 'perfect' filter for a $600 + lens to maximize the camera's ability (then the rest is up to me).

btw, I should mention that it's the circular polarizer I'm after.

Cheers,
Keebler

03-29-2010, 07:31 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Keebler Quote
Hi again folks,

I'm trying to learn so much that I've stressed myself out trying to find answers

i'm looking at buying the DA14 (if you've seen my other post). Looks like a great lens. A bit concerned about the size carrying around, but I can't really afford to spend more (plus I do like the wide angle).

Which leads to me to the question of a filter. I certainly don't want to spend $650 or so and NOT put a filter on it. Especially considering I'll be using it outside alot for landscapes etc..