Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2007, 09:30 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Pentax DA*16-50mm Lens Worth It?

I have been in the market for a new lens in the teens-50/70mm range for awhile now. I have been reading as many posts that I can find here dealing with the Pentax, Tamron and Sigma choices in this range. At the same time I keep hearing about the pending release of the Pentax DA*16-50mm lens. I took a look at this lens and figure a price range around $1000 for the lens and a good quality protective filter and good quality polorizer filter. Most of the other lenses are cconsiderably less expensive. I see several posts by folks that have either already ordered this lens or can't wait for it to hit the stores.

So, I have to ask, is this lens really worth the extra $600 +/-?? What makes this lens worth soooo much more?

What skill level are you at to want this particular lens? I am new to digital photography and plan to keep it at the hobby level. Is this lens going to be the one I need or can I get quality photos with the lens choices all ready out there?

Another wrench thrown into the equation is the chart showing the new lens releases due out from Pentax that shows a DA 17-70mm waiting in the wings. Any thoughts on this lens or knowledge on it's capabilities vs. the DA* 16-50mm?

Maybe I am mixing apples and oranges here lumping all these lenses together and someone can sort this out so I can get more info before I finally make a purchase.

Thanks - Gary

07-19-2007, 09:40 AM   #2
Veteran Member

The Pentax star lenses, along with the limiteds, are Pentax's ultimate quality line. The star lenses, in addition to having excellent optical characteristics, will have SDM focusing, are weather/dust sealed. They are the equivalent of the Canon L lens line.