Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-11-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
I'm Heartbroken Oil on the Blades A-50mm Macro F 2.8

My favorite lens the A 50mm 1:2.8 Macro was pulled out of its case today for a shoot and I am heartbroken. It was fine last time I used it a few days ago.

I noticed when opening the aperture slight oil starting to show on the blades. I have been using this lens for more than 30 years and remember going with out food or gas for my car for a weeks time just to buy it.

Oh well she's still clear silky smooth in operation but having the thought of this lens starting it's demise just breaks my heart. It has been an absolute sweetheart of a lens.

04-11-2010, 05:47 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Oh no! I'm so sorry that has happened to it. Do you have a strong emotional attachment to this one in particular, I mean I know it won't be the same, but you can probably find another one on PF's marketplace for a lot cheaper than you originally paid for it, will be better than nothing. Or maybe you can find a way to fix it?
04-11-2010, 06:08 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Why not send it in for some TLC? If it's just oil, it can be cleaned off. Since the lens will be taken apart anyways, you could have it re-lubed.

I bought a Vivitar lens that had an unbelievable amount of oil on the blades, and I sent it in for repair. Good as new.
04-11-2010, 06:27 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
This is a $50 fix. You should do it before the oil gets on the glass, then it's over.

Try Ralph Innes, he's extremely affordable and very very good at what he does.
Repair Resources & Rates

04-11-2010, 06:34 PM   #5
Veteran Member

You might try the fix and learn something in the process.
If it were AF, then I think I would not have the gall to even open it, but with MF, that's a whole different story.
04-11-2010, 07:01 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums