Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2010, 07:17 AM   #1

Good 300MM for K10

I own a K10 and am living in Monteverde Costa Rica and feel a need to purchase a 300MM lens to capture some of the amazing scenery and birds here. I am a novice to the camera and one friend recommended theTamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro Lens for Pentax AF. Does anyone have any experience with this lens or suggestions for a comparable lens in this price range? Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

04-15-2010, 07:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by chrisooo Quote
I own a K10 and am living in Monteverde Costa Rica and feel a need to purchase a 300MM lens to capture some of the amazing scenery and birds here. I am a novice to the camera and one friend recommended theTamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD Macro Lens for Pentax AF. Does anyone have any experience with this lens or suggestions for a comparable lens in this price range? Thank you in advance for any suggestions.
If you search you'll find quite a few threads on this lens.

Short summary:
1) Incredibly sharp for a lens in its price range
2) Main drawback is that it is prone to purple fringing in high contrast situations
04-15-2010, 01:46 PM   #3
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Your friend has a good point. Tamron 70-300 is a very good lens considering it's price tag. I (my wife) own a copy. Frankly I never liked it but she is very happy with it. Many on this forums prefer DA55-300. Apparently it's sharper with less PF. I never had it so I can't comment. Only other 300 I had were Sigma 100-300/4 which is superb, and Pentax FA*300/4.5 which is just as good if not tad better IMHO.

At the end of the day it all depends on how much are you willing to spend. Remember in 97 out of 100, good lenses don't come cheap!
04-15-2010, 08:17 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery