Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2010, 12:35 PM   #1

Pentax vs Tamron

I just purchased a k-x as I am new to dslr (have a hassleblad, rollieflex and various other film cameras and been shooting for years) and am trying to learn the Pentax lens lingo.

I understand that I need a "k" mount lens but much beyond that the various abbreviations throw me.

I primarily shoot still/macro and portraits. I prefer prime vs zooms and want a fast 50mm and 85 or 100mm.

So my question is...is pentax glass better (read: worth the $) than tamron?

I realize I may be starting an all out debate with this question...

04-19-2010, 01:01 PM   #2
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
One thing that generally sets Pentax glass apart from competition (at least most of it) is SMC. i.e: Super Multi Coating.

I've had only two Tamron lenses: 28-200 XR Di IF and 70-300 LD Di.
None of these (especially the first) can't rival SMC coated lenses.

Looking at your priorities:
Tamron 90/2.8 Macro is well regarded, but then so are various variants of Pentax 100 macro.
Unles you don't use old adaptall glass there isn't many primes by Tamron these days.
Pentax 50/1.7 in various incarnations is considered one of the best 50s ever by any brand. 50/1.4 versions are not considered as sharp, but have better bokeh. 50/1.2 is a cult lens, and worth every penny and so is 55/1.8 which is much cheaper.
Pentax 85mm lenses are hard to get these days (in UK anyway) but are considered to be excellent lenses. Even M85/2 which is considered the "weakest link" of Pentax 85 is still VERY WELL regarded lens!

Quick guide to Pentax glass generations:
K series: oldes K mount lenses. Optically as SMC Takumars, big, heavy, great glass, fantastic build
M series: 2nd generation of K mount. Redesigned optics, smaller, lighter but some are slower than than K counterparts. Still perfect built.