Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2010, 08:13 AM   #1
Pentaxian

DA 40mm f2.8

Hi,

I am new to photography, I am a k-x user with a kit lens, I am planning to buy this limited lens due to its high score on reviews here and also the size. (Not to mention that this is a limited copy) My gripe is that local stores heres sell this item for around 600-650USD. I also checked the net and other on-line stores qoute me around 500USD. Can you guys (owner of this lens) give me tons of sample shots made out from this lens so I can tempt myself and really get one of these even if our local price is too high, used item is welcome.

Thanks

04-26-2010, 08:31 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Kumusta?

Here in Hong Kong it's about HK$3,200 / US$400. Why not get a cheap flight with Cebu Pacific and make a weekend of it for the same price as getting in in Manila?

I think the 40 pancake and the K-x would make an excellent "compact" combination. Not much bigger than an Oly E-PL1 with kit zoom, and far superior IQ.

FWIW, I have decided to go with the DA 35 Macro as my walkaround lens, as I feel the 40 is a bit long for me, I have the 50/1.4 already, and I like the idea of always having macro capability with me.
04-26-2010, 08:57 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Not sure what online shops you've checked, but the reputatable ones in the US (eg, B&H, Adorama) sell this lens for $350 USD or less. Not sure how that works out after paying whatever fees might be associated with overseas ordering, but don't deal with any comapny that wants to charge $500 as the base price!

Anyhow, if you want samples, check out the "DA Limited Club" thread for many, many samples from this (and the other Limiteds too, of course).
04-27-2010, 06:35 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
DA 40mm f2.8

@ UnsinkableII