Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2010, 09:56 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Vivitar Series 1 105mm macro BROKEN!

This is my luck I must say. The day I win the contest my trusty manual macro lens breaks.

It will now not focus beyond about two feet. There is a rattling inside like a screw has come loose. I do not remember banging it or otherwise abusing it. Just last week it was fine. I cannot afford another one.

Anyone know about taking apart and fixing these? I am no expert with such things.

[x-post to photo.net]

05-01-2010, 10:07 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I had something similar happen to mine. I ended up selling it for $99 usd and getting the Sigma 105m EX DG. However, if you were in the U.S. there are 2 or 3 possibilities of reliable repair people that could fix it for ~ $60-135 USD. I can't really say on your side of the pond. I regret not having mine fixed. Mine also had the aperture stuck wide open at the same time it stopped focusing at a distance.
05-01-2010, 11:58 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Yikes. If I sold it for $99 I couldn't afford to replace it with anything. At that price I would keep it just for the macro end, but I have been using it for a lot more than that.
05-01-2010, 12:57 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Total wild guess, but it could be the screw that bolts down the focusing ring to the helicoid coming loose. I had something similar happen to my Takumar, of which, I no longer can focus beyond 5 feet. It was an easy fix but realigning it properly for infinite focus was a lot of trial and error.