Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2016, 02:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Trip to B&H Superstore

I plan to take a trip to the B&H Superstore using AMTRAK from Wilmington DE. Wilmington is about a two hour drive from Lewes in Southern DE.

At your store I would like some advice and be able to test out two camera/lens combinations: The Pentax K1 with the Pentax 150-450 lens and the Nikon D500 with the Sigma 150-600 Sport Lens.

I've been using Pentax for a few years and plan to buy a lens and perhaps a camera for wildlife photography. Wildlife photography now is the vast majority of where I spend my photography time since moving to the lower Delaware shore in Lewes DE.

I really enjoy my K3 with both the Sigma 4.5 and Pentax DA 300. However I need a system with much better autofocus and also a good telephoto zoom lens. My choice is to remain with Pentax and buy the 150-450 now to use with my K3 and keep my fingers crossed that the K3 follow on camera has equal or better autofocus than the new K1, assuming the K1 is adequate for my needs. Changing camera brands after many years is not that simple, especially with a fairly large number of lenses.

OR

Buy the Nikon D500 and the Sigma 150-600 Sport now for my wildlife photography and keep the rest of my Pentax gear for my other photography.

Can I just "drop in" to B&H and expect to deal with a person familiar with both the Pentax AF system and also familiar with the autofocus system of the Nikon D500 with the Sigma 150-600 Sport lens? or Should I make an appointment prior to traveling to your Superstore in NYC?

I would like to get the "hands on" feel of autofocus with each system, bring some memory cards and take home some sample shots.

Thanks
Bob

Last edited by RockvilleBob; 07-10-2016 at 03:38 AM.
07-11-2016, 09:06 AM   #2
B&H Photo Representative

QuoteOriginally posted by RockvilleBob Quote