Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-22-2010, 09:10 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
35mm negative scanning: Emulsion side up, down or....

Hi,

I did a very quick search and did not find anything on this, so sorry if it's been asked before.
When scanning 35mm negatives: Should I set emulsion side down, up, or simply ensure correct image orientation (no horizontal flip)
I did a quick test and other than requiring flipping the image horizontally, did not find much difference. But I'm still very new at this and I'm still far from proficient.

Thanks,

08-23-2010, 07:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I went though the same thing when I started scanning my negatives with an Epson V700. I found a noticeable, although by no means significant, improvement upon putting the negatives in in the way Epson said. I always get confused as to which is the emulsion and which is the base, but the easy way to remember it is that you want to put the negatives into the holder so that when you are looking down at them the numbers/letters are reversed. (i.e. mirror image; the number one has its horizontal bar pointing to the right). At least on the V700 negative holder, it actually has numbers printed on it like this to help you remember.
08-23-2010, 08:07 AM   #3
Veteran Member

The main exception to the emulsion side up (emulsion is the less glossy side) for me is if the film curves too much, it can touch the bottom glass. Putting film in the other way and then doing the flip in post (or the scanner software) can help with this... although I'm almost certain there's a bit of softness from the curl.
08-23-2010, 10:07 AM - 1 Like   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums