Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #1

Getting back into film (some questions)

I'm a full time working photographer (editorial, commercial, and weddings) who recently purchased a Pentax 67 II system and plan on shooting film on personal and some jobs.

I mainly photograph people and plan on using Tri-X and Delta 3200 for my B&W work.
Is there a certain type developer that will work with the Kodak and Illford film or do I have to find developers more suited for each film?

Thanks!

01-03-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Congratulations on the 67II!

To get started, nearly any developer will do what you need - D-76 or T-Max developer from Kodak, or one of the Ilford formulas - depending on your volumes etc, whatever is easiest.

Once past the start, there are so many flavors and favorites, seems like nearly everybody has theirs Myself, at this point I've settled on good old D-76 as I got some for $2 per gallon. Once that runs out, maybe I'll try something else, but really I don't see much need.

If you have a specific look you're after, you might get some specific recommendations.
01-04-2011, 10:51 PM   #3
Inactive Account

I think D-76 and Tri-X are a match made in heaven. At any rate, it's a good place to start: it's sorta the "baseline" for film developers. It's right in the middle: when I'm testing a new film, I use D-76 to develop it, as I use it as a point of reference.

Ilford ID-11 is the same stuff as D-76, the only difference is the packaging (Ilford separates the developer and accelerant components in the box of the developer for longer shelf life.)

If you're looking for something really easy, get some Diafine (Freestyle sell it in LA.) A two-part developer, it's ridiculously easy. Don't need to worry about times or temps; just soak film in solution A for three minutes, then in solution B, then rinse & fix.
01-07-2011, 01:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery