Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2011, 05:43 PM   #1

Wrong ISO set on camera

Hey! I just set up this forum to see if I could find out an answer to a quick question.
I'm studying an NQ Photography course at college and think I've messed up big time! But I can't find the answer anywhere and it's been bugging me for days.
I bought 2 fujichrome colour reversal film (100F ??) and I had the ISO set to 400 on my Pentax K1000 35mm camera. After using the 36 frames I thought that I vaguely remembered that I was supposed to have set the ISO to 100 but I couldn't be sure. Dunno if that's what the 100F is about? So 1 film has been set to 400 ISO and the other has been used with an ISO setting of 100 on the camera. Before sending them away to get processed I was wondering what one I've messed up. I've trawled the internet for ages and can't seem to find the answer anywhere. Hope you can help. Thank you.

05-01-2011, 08:53 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.

Setting the ISO to 400 when shooting ISO 100 film means that you have told the camera that the film is 4x more sensitive than what you were actually shooting. As a result, you can expect that roll to be tragically underexposed. We have all done that at one time or the other, so consider it a rite of passage of sorts.

Steve

Last edited by stevebrot; 05-02-2011 at 08:05 AM. Reason: Grevious spelling error...
05-02-2011, 07:46 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I did so with a roll of 120 in the Yashica Mat, then gave it to daughter to take pics with. At least it was print rather than chrome film, but still...... And that isn't the only time I've done this.
05-03-2011, 03:04 AM   #4

Original Poster
Thanks

Aw thanks so much Steve. So the 100F on the film is talking about the ISO? I'm in college tomorrow anyway, so I'll face the music then! Just wanted to be put out of my misery early. Thanks so much for your help