Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-13-2011, 11:57 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Getting Started - What to buy?!

Hi All,

I've been reading many of the great threads here in anticipation of getting my first MF camera. I am just starting out in film coming from a K200d then a K5 and a number of beautiful Pentax primes!

However, with film, I am starting out slow to see how things go. I have purchased a cheap Yashica TLR, which should arrive today. plan on developing and scanning my own film and would like some advice on whether or not what I am ordering is what I need and is reasonable given my desire to keep cost relatively low at this stage.

Here's what I am about to order:

Samigon Developing tank (accompdateds 120 film)
Kodak HC-110 B&W developer
Kodak Indicator Stop Both
Kodak Photo Flow
Kodak Tri-X 400TX
Kalt Large changing bag (27"X30")
Epson V600 Scanner

Do these sound like reasonable purchases for someone getting started in B&W film development? Other things you think I should be getting? Would you substitue any of these items for something else?

Thanks in advance for you insights!

Doug

06-13-2011, 01:58 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

For film only you don't need stop bath; you can use plain water instead. You will need fixer though.
You will need a graduate to measure and mix chemicals, and storage bottles to keep them in.
An infant medicine syringe (available at any drug store) is the best way to measure HC110 (and Rodinal).
I strongly recommend you get a funnel and mixing paddle.
A good thermometer and film clips are also necessities.
An accurate countdown timer is very good to have, too.

Good luck!

Chris

Last edited by ChrisPlatt; 06-13-2011 at 04:20 PM.
06-13-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Veteran Member