Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-18-2011, 06:37 PM   #1
Veteran Member

OH NOES!!1 Film processing problem

I've been doing some of my own developing now for several months, using rodinal. It's pretty dependable, seems like I can't really screw it up. Til now, the only minor issue I've had was getting the fix level a little low, so I had some edge effects, but they were no big deal. But I developed a roll last night, and just scanning it now. The scans are all messed up.....very posterized. I'm hoping someone has seen something like this and can tell me what the problem is. I guess it's possible it's the scanner, but I suspect the developing process somehow. It was Rodinal 1:25, for 10 minutes, with agitation for 5 seconds every minute. I've done this many times, and never seen anything like it. Same bottle of Rodinal, always. The film is LegacyPro 100, and is from a 12-pack out of which I've used 7 or 8 rolls already, with no issues.

As far as I can determine, there's only one difference with this batch, though it didn't strike me as important: The tank and reel. I've been using a cheapo plastic setup, but I got a Kindermann stainless steel tank with two reels on eBay this week, and used those. The tank and reels arrived clean, but were obviously not new. I washed them thoroughly in soap and hot water, then rinsed them thoroughly before use. Any possibility the new tank could have anything to do with this? Other ideas?

Full frame plus crop below:

09-18-2011, 06:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
So, I've just carefully inspected a couple of the negatives with a loupe, and I can definitely see those rough transition lines on them. So it's not the scanner.
09-18-2011, 08:23 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Todd Adamson Quote
LegacyPro 100
See same here Todd.Image here is 100 legacy pushed to 800 iso.