Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2012, 11:07 AM   #1

Scanning 120 slide film - slide or negative?

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to flim. Have a 645N on the way and just trying to figure how this is all going to work. My question: After getting my 120 slide film processed, is it better to scan the negative or the processed (unmounted) slide?

Sorry if this has been answered, I tried my best to find something by searching.

Best Regards,
Anthony

01-13-2012, 11:26 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
either can scan well. Ive scanned all types of film. It is easier to have the processor do a 4 base scan for Proofing/Web though and then just scan the frames you want high quality at home - At least that is my preference I find Scanning tedious on a flatbed and i can't afford a nikon 9000

EDIt I noticed you said get your slide filme processed and mentioned negative or slide. there is no negative, Slide film is a Positive. Print is a Negative. you can get both in B/W or colour (for B/W you can actually use almost any B/W film - no Fuji Across- and have it done as a slide at

http://www.dr5.com/
01-13-2012, 12:07 PM   #3

Original Poster
OK, I see. That makes sense, explains why I couldn't figure this out. Thanks for the reply!
01-13-2012, 12:40 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
If you're looking to make a decision as to whether to shoot slide film or negative, my suggestion is to shoot negative as a negative will hold more information than a slide. That is to say it can hold more detail--you can expose for the shadows without losing detail in the highlights.

01-13-2012, 12:47 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by johnyates Quote