Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2012, 06:53 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Thing on my Film?

I'm pretty new to shooting film and I was wondering if someone could help me solve a problem I've been having with my K1000. I've been noticing this funny streak appearing on some of my photos over the past few weeks. I sort of thought it was lens flare, a development flaw on my part or a problem with the camera or something but, frankly I have no idea. I did some goggling around but, couldn't really find anything because I'm not quite sure what I'm looking for. It's got me beat, was hoping someone who know what they're doing could help me out. If you have any other tips about shooting film, I'd appreciate hearing them as well.

03-31-2012, 07:37 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Looking like a light leak of some sort. Are you using factory loaded film or are you loading your own canisters?
03-31-2012, 10:49 PM   #3

Original Poster
Factory loaded. Could it be my make shift dark room duffel bag / bathroom letting in a little light?
04-01-2012, 02:30 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Could also be your camera that is leaking a bit.

04-01-2012, 04:04 AM   #5
Veteran Member

I had some light leaks a while ago with a K1000. Here's a discussion about them: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-film-slr-discussion/175571-whats-wrong-here-me-camera-lab.html.

It turned out to be light leaks into the canister after I rewound the film and removed the canister from the camera. Your streaks are positioned differenty compared to my experience. So I'd suggest that if they are indeed leaks, your idea of "makeshift darkroom" light seems reasonable. I would think light reaching "uncanistered" film from a doorway would expose differently than light through a canister. Which frames are affected? My leaks only appeared at the beginning of the roll.