Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2012, 06:35 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Film exposures and processing digital scans

I'm just getting started with film. One of the things I've read is, unlike digital, it's better to expose for shadow detail. I've read that a lot of detail can be pulled back from the overexposed areas on film. My question is, can that same detail be pulled back from a digital scan of a negative? Or does that scan behave like an image out of a digital camera, and if the highlights are blown, they're gone? Or when they talk about pulling back detail in overexposed areas of film, are they only talking about the darkroom print/enlarge process?

Thanks,

05-13-2012, 08:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
kb,
I am also just amateur in this.
I expose the film with the camera setting 1 stop higher than the film nominal rating eg iso 400 film,I set the camera for iso 800.
Then process strictly according to the recommendations for the higher setting. I find this way allows the roll to be used from bright day to maybe low light with the 1:1.4 lens wide open

Try to get some shots with wide ranges, so we can see.
Here is a scan (last year) of a 9 by 6 inch wet print which I think has a wide range you are referring to:
https://www.box.com/s/e84fc2ba118b3beb444f
05-14-2012, 07:59 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Expose for the shadows and develop for the highlights is the time-tested rule. But that's not too practical when shooting small format if that's what your shooting. You typically have 36 shots on a roll and the chances of all of them needing the same treatment is unlikely.