Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-20-2012, 05:50 AM   #1
Forum Member

Tank Developing vs. Film Curl

I'm new to tank developing black and white film at home, although I have to say that I've very pleased with my efforts thus far. I have an "AP" branded plastic tank, but I believe that the same tank is sold under different brands - it's black with a red top and white spools. The only real issue I've experienced relates to loading the film onto the plastic spool. Having experimented a bit, here's what I've found to be the problem:

I have two film cameras - a Spotmatic F and a KX. On both of these cameras, the take-up spool (on the right side of the camera, as you look at the back of the body) winds the film in the opposite direction to the way the film is wound on the spool. If you imagine looking through the bottom of the camera body, the film is wound clockwise around the film cannister and counter-clockwise around the take-up spool. This is significant, because the only time I've experienced an issue with loading the film onto the developing take spool is when I've just taken the film out of the camera. In the dark, I can feel that the end of the film is curling back against itself, making its journey around the developing spool more difficult than it needs to be, causing the film to buckle before the entire film is loaded onto the spool.

So far, the only solution I've found that works is to develop the film several days after removing it from the camera. My theory is that the extended time wound-up in the film canister helps to restore the film's original curl, making it easier to put on the developing tank spool.