Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-11-2012, 02:02 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Old chemicals

Hi

I have some bags of powder chemicals from the middel of the 1980. Should I just dispose of this or could it still work? It is a tin can of D-76, a paper bag of D-76 and some FujiFix.

Its been some 20 years since I last devloped film, looking forward to doing it again!

07-11-2012, 02:59 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm a chemist, but I don't specialize in photographic chemistry.
If they were stored dry and not exposed to excess heat, the tin is probably good, the bag is likely good (it's foil-lined, as I recall), and the fix is good.
You might find some deterioration of the developers, depending on the humidity and termperature of storage, but probably not so much as to make them worthless - I'd bet you won't be able to detect any change. Still, developer's not terribly expensive - unless you're doing it totally for fun, you might want to simply get fresh.
If you dispose of them, you ought to do so as chemical waste, not in the municipal trash.
Best wishes
07-12-2012, 12:18 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jford Quote
I'm a chemist, but I don't specialize in photographic chemistry.

If you dispose of them, you ought to do so as chemical waste, not in the municipal trash.
Best wishes
Hello jford.

Thanks for your tips. I will of course return the chemicals to our local recycling place that handles toxic waste.

Can I dispose of the diluted chemisty in the drain or should that also be treated as toxic?

Thanks.
07-14-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter