Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-27-2012, 08:51 AM   #16

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Miguel Quote
Fake scanning of transparencies and film by using a macro lens on a good DSLR is a nice concept that is very imperfect. I've been converting film to digital media for clients for a few years. I've set up a similar workbench using an inverted color enlarger head with color correction capability. I've used it to convert 135mm and medium format media. I've also tested the same against a dedicated film scanner and a good Epson flatbed scanner with film scanning capabilities.

Nothing beats a film scanner. The flatbed and the DSLR method were essentially tied-- not because they produced the same images, but because both produced equally good or mediocre images that looked different from each other , thus requiring more attention in post. The variables were the type of film (Kodak, Agfa, Ansco etc) and contrast quality of the original work.

It would be far easier for the OP to get the 8mm movie converted to DVD and do a screen capture for cleanup later in software.

M
Hi Miguel,

on this I have to disagree. If you take a look at my results they are tied with the ones of a drum film scanner (albeit the drum scanner can go up to 12.000 dpi).

The problem with this method is achieve the perfect alignment and the correct focus; you can obtain both simply using live view to focus and avoiding enlargers, copy stands etc.. You simply have to put the camera directly on top of the film, using a metal hood as a spacer / light screen (look at the pictures in my post to have a better idea, please).

11-28-2012, 10:33 PM   #17
Veteran Member