Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-13-2013, 06:49 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
B&W Paterson Tank What am I doing wrong?

This is my first time developing B&W. I am using the Paterson super 4 Tank that holds 3 35mm. It's a one liter tank.
I have developed 6 batches and have had the same problem every time. I even bought another tank because I thought maybe it was a crack, still had the same problem.
One develops perfectly the other is messed up when developing two rolls at a time.

Please help!!! I have gone through 12 rolls of tri-x 400.

01-13-2013, 07:06 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's very hard to tell from these negatives much of anything. I assume the one on the right is the problem one. If so, it looks like you didn't fill it enough as the right edge of the right negative doesn't look developed. I've had the problem in my Patterson tank (it's not the tank it's the measurement). It also looks to me that the right negative needs more hypo time and is not clear. You can try re-hypoing the negative until the pink goes away. The pink negative gives it away. That's as much as I can say.
01-13-2013, 07:12 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks blackcloudbrew. Thanks for the input, here is another example. It is a 1 liter tank and I am putting a whole 1 liter in.
01-13-2013, 07:43 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I have several Paterson system 4 tanks. One can develop 3 35mm rolls as I recall. I use it for 35mm and 120 film. I know that the required volumes are on the bottom of the tank. The only time I've had a problem with it was when I didn't get it full. I'm not sure what to tell you. If you really think it's the tank, try developing just one roll in it and be very sure of your quantities. Your negatives look pink which suggests your fixer is old.

01-13-2013, 07:49 PM   #5