Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
09-21-2014, 12:56 PM - 7 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Scanning Ektar - My Method.

I decided to move this entire article to my personal website.

It can now be found here,
Scanning Color Film | Photography by Colton Allen

Last edited by Swift1; 04-24-2015 at 12:19 PM.
09-21-2014, 03:05 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Thanks so much for such a detailed and helpful post, Colton. This is very timely for me as I happen to have a roll of Ektar ready for scanning!
09-21-2014, 03:42 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I should add that this method works just as well for any other type of color negative film.
Also, if anyone has tips or info on ways to improve this, I'm all ears.
09-21-2014, 04:59 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Thank you. I will look at this in detail because I have no scanning knowledge or equipment yet, and so no baseline, but I want to shoot and scan film. You do this so well. This gets bookmarked!
David

09-22-2014, 04:15 AM - 2 Likes   #5

Bookmarked this immediately. Thank your for taking the time to write this up, Colton! It's a very clear set of instructions
Looks like this is much less time-consuming than the Vuescan + ColorPerfect method most people seem to recommend for Ektar, while the results look great to me!
09-23-2014, 03:28 PM   #6

John,

when I dial up the Main EpsonScan Professional Mode window, I get nothing at all like what you show, i.e., there are no options shown below the Adjustment choices, no Unsharp Mask, no Grain Reduction, etc. What am I missing?
09-23-2014, 04:14 PM   #7
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by tonysemone Quote
What am I missing?
Easy to miss, there's an obscure little scroll bar that allows you to see the rest of the options.

09-23-2014, 06:20 PM   #8
Veteran Member

Original Poster