Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2014, 08:33 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Developer Receommendations

Hello All,

I would like to pick your brains and ask for any recommendations when it comes to choice of developer?
I'm just starting out in processing Film at home (I've had some experience in college previously) and am not sure on which developer to order. I've narrowed it down to to Tetenal Paranol S (Rodinal clone) or ILFOTEC HC (HC-110 clone) and was wondering what would likely be the better choice.

I'm after something that will keep well (both seem to have long shelf lives) and that I can use at high-dilutions for longer film development (more room for timing error). My college uses the Ilfotec HC, so that would seem a logical choice, but I can get the Tetanol at a lower starting out cost (I don't really need 1L of dev to start). Any experiences with either developer or info on what they are better suited for would be most appreciated.

Cheers, Unsane
P.S. I'm likely to be using fast film (ISO400), but something that can get decent results with slower film would be nice.

EDIT: I'm in the UK, if that has any bearing on price etc.

12-27-2014, 08:46 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I'd start out with the same developer your college uses. It'll be easier in the short term (and reduce the chance of losing your first couple of rolls due to slightly off developing times with a different dev).

Branch out to different developers once you've got the process working alright at home.
12-28-2014, 08:59 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I have no experience with the clones you've narrowed it down to.
FWIW Rodinal generally will yield results a bit grainier than HC110.

Chris
12-28-2014, 09:56 AM   #4

Original Poster