Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-19-2015, 04:16 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
film scan quality

Hi all,

I'm new to film, and I just got back my first roll (Fuji XTRA 400 ISO), developed and scanned at the local shop.
I'm not happy with the scanned results. The scans have a resolution of around 1800x1200, but what bothers me the most is the "color noise".
Is this amount of "color noise" normal? Is this a bad scan, or this is how it should be due to the ISO 400 film?
The pictures are 100% crops.

Compared to these, ISO 3200 on my K20D is better

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
SP-2000  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
SP-2000  Photo 
07-19-2015, 05:27 AM - 1 Like   #2
Forum Member

1800x1200 pixels? That's just a tad over 2 MP. Surely they could scan it with higher resolution? Maybe that's the problem? Film scanned at 6400dpi should be about 8300 pixels wide. File you got will print only 6x4 at 300dpi. You'd probably be better off taking photos of the film with K20D.
07-19-2015, 05:31 AM - 1 Like   #3

Photos: Albums
Mine was scanned at a higher resolution, so I've included a 100% crop from the original 3000x2000 scan, and a 100% crop from a downscaled 1800x1200 version.

I like my results; you may need to readjust your expectations. And, while I haven't tried them, there are probably better fast colour films than Fujifilm Superia X-TRA if grain is a concern.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
QSS-32_33  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
QSS-32_33  Photo 
07-19-2015, 05:36 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member