Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-29-2015, 07:17 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Is this problem with the camera or the developing?

Hi all-- I just got a cheap Pentax ZX-10 because I wanted to play around with shooting film. I used a brand-new roll of Kodak UltraMax 400 35mm film. I shot the entire 36 exposures and then mailed it into thedarkroom.com for developing and scanning.

But the images I got back were mixed. Some were perfectly fine and looked great, but about half the roll has what appears to be mis-aligned pictures-- that is, the image from shot #20 is partially obscured by a portion of the image from shot #21. See below for an example.

Is this a problem with the camera, the film, or the developing?

Thanks for any and all help. I'm a total film newbie.

12-29-2015, 07:23 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Probably an issue with the camera's winder (but check the negatives first), though perhaps it could be caused by lower battery voltage or incorrectly loaded film. The latter is unlikely, since this would most likely result in an error message on your first frame, or at least inconsistent results from the start.
12-29-2015, 07:29 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Is your picture from the scan you got back?

Measure the images are on the negative itself. They should be well formed and 36mm wide. If so, the problem was with the scanning.
12-29-2015, 07:29 PM   #4

Do you have the negatives? Is the blank space between frames inconsistent? If it is the there is a problem with the camera. If it isn't then the problem lies with the scanning process not aligning the frames properly. If much of the frame should be dark it is sometimes difficult to determine where the frame boundaries are but that wouldn't be the problem with the sample image given.

12-29-2015, 08:11 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery