Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
04-18-2016, 05:25 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Learn from my stupid newbie mistake.

I'm sure we've probably all made this one.

So there I was, happily loading my patterson tank in the darkbag. I've got one reel loaded and the other empty on the spindle to stop things from slapping around. So far I've been using agitation with the little stirring rod thing, without inversion (tends to spill chemistry) and doing well, and the last time I did it I filled the tank half full (per the guide on the base) and got a good result. Okay, all well so far, but then I bring it out into the light and pour the developer in and start agitating away, and things just don't feel right. The sound it makes as it sloshes back and forth isn't quite so sloshy as before, and the little stirring rod thing isn't plugging into the spindle properly. Yeah, whatever, I think - I'm still new to this, so maybe I'm just not used to variability in the way things are happening. I should also add that I had had a busy day.

So of course when I finally open the lid after the fixing phase to begin the rinse, what should I find but the film closest to the lid. ABOVE the chemistry. And of course completely fouled up.

I'd put the ****** spindle in upside down, which is why the stirring rod wasn't mating properly with it, and the narrow upper part was bearing on the base, which is why the sound was different.