Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
05-31-2016, 05:35 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Scanning of 35mm Slides with a DSLR

I have a ton of 35mm slides and have doing a little research into my options for converting to digital. As my first experiment, I put a 35 mm slide on a light table, mounted my k200D on an old Pentax Macro Rail on a tripod with a 100mm Vivitar Series One Macro lens. My k200 is only capable of 10 megapixels. Since this is my first attempt, I have nothing to judge the results against so I thought I would post here to get some opinions. Please be honest. Like I said this is my first attempt. I plan on getting a newer, higher resolution Pentax in the near future, but what do you think so far? How does this compare to a scanned photo?

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K200D  Photo 
05-31-2016, 05:47 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

I am very interested in your methods. I too have a ton of old slides, mine and my late Mother's. Various means I have tried include various Slide Copiers that fit on camera, which I just can't get to work properly, a borrowed cheap USB slide scanner which left a messy collection of dust spots and poor colour rendition and very harsh contrast. From what I see of your work the result is far superior to anything I have achieved. I will follow this thread with interest
05-31-2016, 05:59 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Bruce Clark Quote