Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
08-16-2016, 12:23 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Digitizing Film, any Suggestions?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am considering jumping into the range of film photography as I have a collection of old lenses (now used with a mirrorless body via a bunch of adapters) and is intoxicated by the colors of Fujichrome Velvia. I am a college student and our school's photography program does not offer film photography courses nor do we have a darkroom. I am not going to focus on film a lot so I am planning to send my films out for development. Dwayne's Photo can develop Velvia and have them scanned. I am wondering is it better to have them scanned by Dwayne's Photo (or any other lab) or have them digitized by myself using a macro lens (which I don't have) or a slide copier that can be mounted onto a Sony MILC body? Dwayne's Photo advertises their scans to be 6.5M high IQ files, but many yrs ago I used to play around with some negatives and I just sent them to a local shop (supported by Fujifilm) and they only scanned them in XGA size BMPs, which are just terrible.

Sincerely

08-16-2016, 12:48 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I used an Epson V700 scanner to scan 35 mm negatives to TIF files, in case you are interested in a similar method. That model may not be available anymore, but there are newer versions. A shortcut to one is below.

https://www.amazon.com/Epson-Perfection-V800-Photo-scanner/dp/B00OCEJM9K/ref...rds=epson+v800
08-16-2016, 12:49 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums