Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-07-2017, 10:45 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Pushing Portra 400?

I'm going to Rose City Comic Con and realized it's this weekend. The only indoor film I have is Portra 400 and HP5. I've pushed HP5 before and liked it, but it would be a shame to shoot all the cosplayers in BW. How pushable is Portra?

09-07-2017, 11:32 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I have used the new Kodak Porta 400 quite a lot, but never pushed it, so I have no first hand experience with this. However, when reading reviews and tests on the net, it seems Porta 400 is very pushable:

Review by Tim Parkin: Kodak's new Portra 400 film - On Landscape

Examples of ISO 200-3200 push: Twin Lens Life ~ Fine Art Film Photography ~ Los Angeles Southern California ~ Bwright Photography: In The Bleak Midwinter - New Kodak Portra400 vs Vision3 500T 35mm
09-07-2017, 02:20 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I've pushed 800 to 1600 a few times with good results. If I can find an example I scanned in I'll load it up - or at least take a picture of the picture!
09-07-2017, 04:17 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Interesting that the Kodak datasheet for Portra 800 lists pushing 1 or 2 stops but no pushing on the Portra 400.
I've not pushed any of the Portra films myself so I would interested to hear and see anyone else's results from doing so.

09-07-2017, 10:27 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

So are you using window light? A flash? Or do you plan to adjust the white balance after scanning?
09-08-2017, 07:44 AM   #6
Banned

QuoteOriginally posted by murrelet Quote
I'm going to Rose City Comic Con and realized it's this weekend. The only indoor film I have is Portra 400 and HP5. I've pushed HP5 before and liked it, but it would be a shame to shoot all the cosplayers in BW. How pushable is Portra?