Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-15-2017, 09:21 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bulk film loader - what to look out for?

I saw a couple of bulk film loaders in a local antique store. Didn't see how much they were going for but I figure I'd go back and take a closer look anyway. What sorts of things should I look out for that would prevent me from owning a piece of junk? I have zero experience with bulk film loading.

10-15-2017, 09:50 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
There are only a few designs I have ever seen, and they are all pretty simple mechanical devices. There really isn't much to go wrong. If you want you can test it using a "scrap" roll of film. Just feed the whole roll out of the cassette, then cut the film so there is a "tail" coming out of the cassette. Save both the film and the cassette. When you get there, you can load the film into the loader, tape the end to the tail on the cassette, and wind it in just like you would from a bulk roll. Of course the test roll will be ruined by this point, but at least you will be able to get some sense of if it feels right. You could also use a LED flashlight to check for cracks in the plastic.

One thing to consider is that you don't actually -need- a bulk loader. All you really need is a room that is pitch black, a pair of scissors, some tape (I like masking), and empty snap together cassettes. I only used a bulk loader a few times, as I quickly became annoyed with losing the last frame of each roll to the pre-exposure at the end of a roll, which comes from the way loaders work. Sure, I can't accurately predict how many frames are on a roll, but that isn't nearly as annoying as loosing a shot that was an hour ago.
10-15-2017, 09:53 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The three biggest flaw to check are:

1. Cracks anywhere (with might let light in or suggest that the plastic is brittle and likely to break during use)