Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
03-26-2018, 08:14 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Total newbie, how to set enlarger contrast with a colour head?

I have a new to me Beseler 45 MX enlarger with a Dichro DG colourhead. I've made a few prints with it which has gone really well.... but! I think I can adjust contrast via messing with the filters, but I have no idea what I'm doing (yet). I don't have the manual for the colourhead - it's on order. I was hoping one of you fine folks could tell me, if I want to boost contrast for a print, what should I be doing to these colour knobs?

The alternative is that I buy some contrast filters to go in the drawer that's part of the colour head but... I always try to use what I have first.

The head

2nd print

03-26-2018, 08:22 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This may help:

The DarkroomPrinting Black And White Negatives With A Color Enlarger | Shutterbug

But I'm not an expert and haven't fully read it.

---------- Post added 03-26-18 at 11:28 AM ----------

More info:
Black and White Contrast Control with a Color Enlarger | PHOTRIO
03-26-2018, 08:32 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Yeah, thanks! I was reading it, it sounds like if I dial up more blue light it will increase the contrast, more green, less contrast. Time to expose some more paper. :-)
03-26-2018, 08:34 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by bobbotron Quote
Yeah, thanks! I was reading it, it sounds like if I dial up more blue light it will increase the contrast, more green, less contrast. Time to expose some more paper. :-)
Assuming you have the right kind of Variable Contrast B&W paper - yes.
It also appears that you need to readjust the exposure after making the adjustments.

03-26-2018, 08:41 AM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums