Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20 Likes Search this Thread
10-20-2019, 08:47 AM - 1 Like   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Help needed saving old negatives *UPDATE and Questions*

Hello,

A thrilling discovery! I found in my parent's house a long lost binder of negatives. These are at least 25 years old. I bought my K1000 (still in use today) back in around 1989. I graduated college in 1992, so these are from around that period. Unfortunately, been a year round hot and humid environment is a challenge.
The negatives seem to be ok, but the pages are all curled up and what seems to be sticky as you can see here:

Other than scanning, at least I would like to transfer to newer pages I have.
Any suggestion on how to proceed?

Thanks,

Last edited by ismaelg; 10-31-2019 at 06:11 AM.
10-20-2019, 09:09 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you saying that the negatives are stuck to the plastic? If so there may be a problem of pulling the emulsion off the negatives.
10-20-2019, 09:27 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks Arnold!
If I carefully bend the sheet they don't seem to be stuck. However, I tried pulling a strip and I feel resistance like if it was "wet". I'm getting the binder into an air conditioned room too see how it behaves in less humid conditions.

Thanks,
10-20-2019, 09:32 AM - 2 Likes   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Tricky!

It looks like the plasticizers/chemicals in the sleeves may have migrated into the emulsion or the film base.

Some experimentation might be needed with some of the low-priority negatives (clear leaders or out-of-focus ones) to find a non-destructive method for extracting the negatives or removing residue left by the sleeves.

If the sleeves really have adhered to the negatives in a nasty way, you could try soaking the entire page in either water (with a bit of photoflo) or isopropyl alcohol (in a large closed container).