Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-23-2021, 01:30 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Refresher Course on Processing Supplies

I recently started shooting film, after a long sabbatical, and was shocked at how much it's going to cost me to send 5 rolls of Tri-X off to The Darkroom.

I gave away all my darkroom equipment several years ago, so I'm working on re-acquiring everything I need to do some "quick and dirty laundry-room processing." It's been a little over a decade since I've done it, so I want to make sure I'm not forgetting anything before I start pouring developer.
  • * A changing bag (pretty sure I have one in storage)
  • * Tank and reel
  • * Film Squeegee
  • * Graduated cylinder
  • * Mixing paddles
  • * Amber bottles
  • * Chemistry
  • * an improvised wash tank.
  • * Somewhere clean / dry to hang the film for drying
  • * Some clothes pins
  • * A thermometer
  • * A kitchen timer
  • * A sacrificial roll of film to practice loading the reel

I'm not currently interested in printing, so I'm just going to use a flatbed scanner for now.....

06-23-2021, 01:52 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Hi,

Quite obvious but don't forget something to open the film canister or retrieve the film leader.

Thanks,
Ismael
06-23-2021, 02:14 PM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Here's your list with the things crossed out that I don't use. And I bought nearly off of the items I'm suggesting you don't need if you are only developing film and not making prints;

* A changing bag (pretty sure I have one in storage)
* Tank and reel
* Film Squeegee
* Graduated cylinder
* Mixing paddles
* Amber bottles
* Chemistry
* an improvised wash tank.
* Somewhere clean / dry to hang the film for drying
* Some clothes pins
* A thermometer
* A kitchen timer - Use your phone unless you've got an egg timer already
* A sacrificial roll of film to practice loading the reel