Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2021, 06:20 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Scanning Methods ?

My Epson 3170 from way back is on its last legs.

It seems to me that there are now 2 ways to scan, I suppose really digitise, both negatives (mostly discovered 6 x 9cm from long ago) and prints:

A - Buy a new scanner of which the best specified and affordable I can find is the Epson V600 @ around €330, the v850 is obviously better but at least 3 times the price.

B - Use my Pentax (K-70) with a macro lens mounted on my old enlarger column and a light table for negatives and a bit of studio lighting for prints. I have a light table and some studio lighting. I have an 50mm M F4.0 lens.

The question I have is does one have a particular technical advantage over another, ignore the cash saving of the Pentax system.

Kind regards

CD

08-23-2021, 06:34 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I'm no expert but I would go with either option B or the V850, the V600 will take you only so far.
08-23-2021, 06:51 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Depends on your final/future needs/use for the works being copied. Ultimately for your situation I think using your camera would be better in that once you get set up it will likely go faster than using a flatbed and cost less. This will be somewhat dependent on the the flatness of the film and prints and/or your ability get them that way, and the volume being copied.
08-23-2021, 07:08 AM   #4
Pentaxian

A film scanner will have biggest advantages of: 1) automagical color-conversions for negatives; 2) less hassles in set-up of the rig, lighting, focus, & exposure.

Your K-70 will have biggest advantages of: 1) cheaper; 2) probably faster times per negative or print.

08-23-2021, 07:15 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery