Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-01-2021, 02:08 PM   #1
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Any reason NOT to use "semi-stand" film development method?

After a fairly successful first attempt at home developing B&W film (by which I mean "successful for a total newbie" - i.e. I got some useable negatives ), I'll shortly be developing my second roll.

In my previous session, I developed some 120 Fomapan 200 - a T-grain film, apparently - using Rodinal at 1+50 dilution for 10 minutes, with constant inversions for the first minute followed by a couple of inversions each minute thereafter. Considering the Agfa Isola II camera I used had very limited shutter speed and aperture combinations, and I mostly guessed the exposure using "Sunny-11" (Sunny-16 for my locale), I was pretty happy with the results.

This time round, I'll be developing some 35mm Fomapan 400 - a traditional grain film - shot with an Olympus Trip 35 with automatic exposure, which is likely to be more-consistently accurate than my previous estimated efforts. I was going to use the same development method as before, but since then I've been reading up a lot on stand development - or, more specifically, "semi-stand" development. There seems to be a lot of variation and latitude in this approach, but essentially what I've read suggests using a Rodinal dilution of 1+99 or 1+100, agitating for anything between a few seconds and a minute, then leaving to stand for between 30 - 40 minutes, performing a couple of slow inversions, and leaving to stand for another 30 - 40 minutes before emptying, stopping, fixing and washing. As I understand it, the advantage of this method over true stand development is that it negates (or at least reduces) the possibility of "bromide drag".