Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-22-2022, 09:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Some advice

Hi,
I have a portrait shoot upcoming, and Id need some advice. I was wondering, whether to go for Kodak Double-X or for a roll of Kodak ColorPlus 200 - just to get that clich film look. Double-X seems pretty straigh-forward to me, however, I was wondering, if shooting the ColorPlus rated at 100 would be of any benefit (pastel-like colours?). What do I need to take care of in development then? (Im a newbie there...). Do you have any tips, examples or experience concerning either the Double-X or the ColorPlus at 100? Ive had great results at 200 so far.
My ambition is to get warm, airy portraits, that are medium to soft contrast, with soft colours.
Thanks a lot!
Jan

04-22-2022, 09:34 AM - 1 Like   #2
Custom User Title
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
From my experience, I'd say the Double-X will produce some nice rich and contrasty B-W images.
May I suggest some Portra 160 for portraits? Or if you're indoors, Portra 400?
I find the ColorPlus to be very good, but almost basic. I find the Portra to give that airy, warm, beautiful portraits.
Best luck!
Cheers
04-22-2022, 10:55 AM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi, I went through a Kodak Colorplus phase a few years ago, shooting about 25 rolls of the stuff over two years. If you're looking for a classic 70's film look, you're on the right path. Warm brown tones, and saturated reds and blues are the results of shooting it at 100. But pastels, no. If that's what you'd like, grab a roll of Kodak Porta 160 instead.

Kodak Colorplus 200 - Day Three on the Juan de Fuca Trail, British Columbia

Portrait shots are always lovely on Portra 400, too. But, if you're looking for pastel colours and a bright and airy atmosphere, I'd still spring for Portra 160, it's just much more subdued compared to its 400 iso sibling which I have always found to be pleasantly punchy.