Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-27-2022, 09:24 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Liquid vs. powder chems, which are better? + is Foma the cheapest?

Hi everyone. I would like to ask you a couple of questions about film development.

I am totally new to it, and I'm pretty confused about what kind of chemicals I should choose (I am interested in B&W film photography). I already read how the liquid ones would make my life a bit easier rather than paying attention to carefully dilute the powder ones, but I don't really see it as a problem. Apart from this, do you have a preference between them? Is there a sensible difference in how I should store them? Using powder chems would let me have much more uses per pack as compared to liquid ones at a similar price?

As per title, the second question regards which brand would be the best for what concerns quality/price. In particular, I am particularly interested in the prices Foma.cz has for its line of products, from film rolls to chemicals. What is your experience with these products? Do you know about cheaper o similar alternatives?
-
-
-
I have a couple more questions, sorry

1. Do you know if there is a comprehensive guide for film developing here on this blog I could check out?

2. I have a couple of m42 lenses (coupled with a Petri and a Zenit bodies), other than the film era lenses I use with my digital Pentax, so my question is: If I wanted to buy a film era Pentax body, would it be fine to buy a m42 body, or would it be better to choose a K mount one? I'm not really interested in having automatic settings or TTL, so I wouldn't care much about getting the most advanced and expensive bodies from that era.

If you got here at the end of my post, then thanks for your patience.

07-27-2022, 09:34 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Before diving in, you might want to check out Ilford's blogs on film processing. Here's a good start: