Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 22 Likes Search this Thread
10-19-2022, 11:23 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
X-TOL issues?

I have been using Kodak X-TOL for more than 20 years. Before I used D-76, but found X-TOL a notch above in terms of grain, with speed and price a consideration as well.

On my last three batches, with 80°F water, I could not completely dissolve the powder no matter how long I tried. There were still more specks of undissolved Part A no matter how long I continued to mix it.

After mixing the rest with Part B and the additional water to make 5 liters, I found the developer so weak, I had to use it straight to get results that I normally would see with a 1:1 dilution.

The packaging is dated for what I presume as expiration for Feb. 2023 and in fine print says Made in Germany.

Question #1: Has anyone else encountered this issue recently?

I teach B&W film photography to about 20-60 students per year. I am seriously considering switching to another developer that is more reliable. We typically develop a range of films including Kodak Tri-X and TMax, Ilford Pan F, HP5+, and Delta, and sometimes Kentmere and Arista. We also push process.

Question #2: Any recommendations for a replacement developer? My local supplier carries D76 (potential same Kodak issues as X-TOL?), HC-110, Rodinal, TMax, Ilford ID-11 and DDX.

HC-110 seems viable if I can get students (ages 13-17) to consistently prep the working solution 1:63. Using a stock solution that keeps for a semester at 1:1 dilution helps reduce mistakes.

10-19-2022, 12:26 PM - 1 Like   #2

Has anything changed with your water supply? Are you using water straight from the tap? Could the state or municipality have started adding fluoridation?

When the water supply here started be fluoridated a lot of things were affected. I got a Reverse Osmosis filter and it made a big difference.

Try making a batch with distilled water.