Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-28-2007, 05:31 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Film scratches

Damn my Pentax espio mini. It has so much promise yet always lets me down somehow! Why pentax but such a nice lens in such a poorly built body we will never know.

As an experiment I decided to stick an old roll of Ilford SFX (which I've never used before but is pseudo infrared but I wasn't using a red filter so not very infrared) in it for a formal event I was going to. The espio gave up the ghost halfway through the film which is typical of its erratic behaviour.

I just got the photos back.

1) They have a nice scratch going across them. Great. Thanks espio.

2) The photos are otherwise AMAZING. I adore the qualities of this film (which has been discontinued, just my luck). As usual my espio mini produces tack sharp photos for a compact. I really don't want to go digital for my compact camera (I have a DS but its a bit bulky for parties) as all the photos I see cannot outperform my pentax (when it is not feeling stroppy).

Are there any easy ways to scan the photos and remove the scratches?

Is there anywhere to buy SFX now it has been discontinued or is there a similar film that will produce a slight 'glow' around people but not a heavy IR effect?

Any film camera advice appreciated. I might hunt ebay and see if I can get a better copy of the camera. Strangely enough the next film of reala it had no problem with. Annoying thing. Maybe I load the film badly; it is very picky about film loading but does not have a thread through spool like olympus compacts and pentax film slrs I have used.

I've never had such good black and white shots and all I did was point and shoot!

03-28-2007, 10:51 AM   #2
Inactive Account

One thing to consider: The scratch may be the fault of the processing center. The film is pulled out and processed (very quickly) by machines and can scratch film easily.
03-28-2007, 12:00 PM   #3