Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2009, 01:50 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Darkroom virgin, chemical/paper advice

Sorry if this is slightly OT but it relates to my ME Super.

For the last six weeks I've been gathering everything I need to develop and print my own b&w film. I've got most of the gear together and now its time to get the chemicals and paper. Problem is, I've never done this before.

I've got several rolls of Agfa APX 100 which I'm currently shooting (I've also got some Kodak Tri-x 400). I was originally planing to use Rodinal film developer but I may use Fomadon R09 which I believe is very similar to Rodinal but cheaper.

Now the questions:- What about the stopbath and fixer? Does it matter what brands/type I use?

And for the printing:- what developer should I use? Can the stopbath and fixer used in the film developing be be used for printing?

Finally, what about paper? I'd like to produce 8x10 prints. From what I read, warm tone is better for portraits etc. What is the difference between resin coated and fibre papers.

Lots of questions I know. Thanks for your patience.

06-25-2009, 01:52 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
This thread probably belongs in this forum somewhere Pentax Film SLR Discussion - PentaxForums.com
06-25-2009, 02:10 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
Doh, sorry, I meant to post it in Film SLR discussion. That will teach me to post when I'm tired. Could someone please move it for me?
06-25-2009, 02:37 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'm pretty sure it won't matter what stop and fix you use.

Stop bath can be used for both film and prints. Some developers can be used for both, chack the label for which ones can.

Just get some Ilford multigrade IV paper to start with.

06-25-2009, 02:44 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Go to Photographers Formulary for more information on chemicals.