Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2010, 11:10 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Need help with B&W negative film processing...

Hi everyone,

I recently bought a Pentax Super Program and have just about finished running a roll of Ilford Pan 400 through it to see if it needs some CLA. It looks great inside but you never know until a roll of film goes though it.

So I want to develop my negatives and bought myself a Paterson super system 4 with two reels (promotion with two reels for about $35 shipped which is pretty cheap in Poland). Now what developer should I use? I tried googling information but it just seems so scattered and not uniform. Just about every site has some different recommendations and different times. I would really appreciate some help and/or links.
I've never done this before, is there a developer that's a little more forgiving to beginners? Is there cost effective formulas, where you can use them more than once?

Thank you for all your help and time!

Theperception2008

04-08-2010, 12:26 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Back in the old days I used Microdol. It was noted for fine grain, but not for speed. With ISO 400 film that would be my first consideration. I don't know if that is still around, or if not what today's equivalent or improvement would be but I would give fine grain rendering high priority,
04-08-2010, 10:42 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

simplicity

QuoteOriginally posted by theperception2008 Quote
...is there a developer that's a little more forgiving to beginners? Is there cost effective formulas, where you can use them more than once?
Google DIAFINE and explore the advice and data sheets there.

Perhaps Diafine is not the ideal for all, or even most, cases but it's certainly simple and being a two-part developer it's long lived and a good place to start. And a stop bath is somewhat optional for general use.