Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2010, 05:13 PM   #1

Thinking about Jumping Camps

Hey guys,
I am a Canon users. I used to have Canon XSi that I just recently sold. I used the Canon 24-105 f/4L and 70-200 f/4L IS with that camera. I was thinking about getting the Refurbished Canon 7D, which can be had for about $1100, but now I am thinking maybe Pentax K-5 might be a better option. I am not a professional or anything like that, I just shot family pictures and take pictures when I go on vacations.

First would you recommend K-5 and if yes, what lens would you pair it with. Most of the time on a Canon body I used 24-105 because of its range of motion.

I have already read what this camera is capable of but jumping camps is hard.

11-17-2010, 05:19 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Thinking of jumping camps?

Come into the light.................. come into the light...........

welcome to the forum.
11-17-2010, 05:34 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Jumping camps is hard when you already own two L lenses. Bodies come and go but lenses are on a much slower release cycle.

Short answer: if you really like your existing zooms including the quality, size & weight, speed (f4) and the focal length range, then I’d advise you to buy that refurbished 7D and stay in the Canon camp.

The Pentax lens range is all about high quality compact primes, and zooms with focal length ranges that suit APS-C cameras. As a result the lenses are smaller and lighter. Weather resistant lenses (and cameras) are also at a lower price point than Canon or Nikon. If this appeals to you then Pentax might be for you.

Pentax do not try and mirror the lens offerings of Canon and Nikon, they offer something very different. If you are just after a "like for like" swap of your canon lenses then I'm afraid you are wasting your time. If you want "a change" then you've come to the right place