Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
01-10-2011, 03:45 PM   #1

Considering coming from Nikon...Please help!

I currently have a Nikon D700 with the following lineup:

Zeiss 21 f/2.8
Nikon 24 f/1.4
Sigma 50 f/1.4
Nikon 85 f/1.4
Zeiss 100 f/2
Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 VRII (least used...optically excellent but a damn beast!)

I really enjoy portraits and street shooting. I am not a pro so I don't mind changing up. Drawing me to the Pentax is the size and IQ that I regularly see from posts out there. I love the Zeiss lenses for the '3-D' look and I see that same look in many of the Pentax LTD lenses. I don't mind the crop factor vs full frame. Also of note is the cost of Nikon. It is getting ridiculous. I am looking at a 35mm f/1.4 but it is almost $2,000....I can't afford that with this just being a hobby.

The lenses that stick out to me are:
DA 15 f/4
DA 21 f/3.2
FA 31 f/1.8
FA 43 f/1.9
FA 77 f/1.8
DA 50-135 f/2.8

Anything else out there worth considering? I would look into the K5

My question from anyone that has done similar....would I be happy with the Pentax? I am looking for great IQ in a small package and I think this looks like the perfect solution.

01-10-2011, 03:58 PM   #2
Banned

Photos: Gallery
Well when I look at your Pentax wishlist, I can say that is a damn fine package. Alsoo a very nice lens is the DA*55mm/f1.4 to considder. There are also Zeiss lenses to fit Pentax.
01-10-2011, 04:02 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wow, those Nikon lenses are the cream of the Nikon (non zoom) crop. I simultaneously envy your Nikon collection while sympathizing with your concerns over price. If the Nikon lenses were cheaper I'd probably already own several from your list