Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2011, 04:09 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
K5 "frozen" problem.

Hi all.
This evening I've been out with my new K5 to take some pictures
at an event. I wanted to try some features, specially hi speed shooting.
So I started shooting and everything seemed to work fine until after a continuous shooting series the camera got hung, completely frozen,
I switched it off and on... but nothing happened . I had to remove the battery and install it to get it working again. This happened twice.

has anyone experienced something similar to that?

Of course, I had already used the camera and took some pictures (about 200), but
not so "intense" use.

P.S.: The camera had the grip (not the original, but the one from Dealextreme) and the firmware version is still 1.01. The SD card was a Sandkisk SDHC 16 Gb 15Mb/s that I
almost filled up.

Last edited by jv.pentax; 01-22-2011 at 04:10 PM. Reason: added some details
01-22-2011, 04:13 PM   #2

Remove the grip and test if this happens also without it. If not, you have found the reason....
01-22-2011, 04:48 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Harald Quote
Remove the grip and test if this happens also without it. If not, you have found the reason....
I'll do that next time, Harald.

I have to say that issue happened after taking a series of more than 300 pictures, mixing
not only hi speed - low speed continuous shooting, but also one by one shooting.
01-22-2011, 07:11 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sorry, its not likely the grip. Mine locks when the battery gets too low, with or without grip and regardless of which battery I am using. Its not a fatal flaw but its aggrevating when the grip is attached and I am ankle deep in mud in the cold having to remove both batteries. Now I just remember to switch batteries in the menu when it gets low. .....and I wait for firmware v.1.03 to fix it.

01-23-2011, 03:39 AM   #5