Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-26-2011, 01:49 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
A new one for me...

Thought you guys might get a kick out of this.

I am a bird photographer and it is my hobby and passion. Anyway I shoot with about 95% canon users and the rest Nikon. Canon with the 7d nikon with d300 or ds3 or something. Some mark 4's and 2's and 3's.. don't really know all.

I am located in S.E. Asia. I am the only one with Pentax cameras. And many time was asked why????? did i buy Pentax. My hobby my choice. Now every one just accepts it and we all get along.

Got my new K-5 last week and took it to a hot spot here in Thailand. And all of the usuals were there. One of the guys came up to greet me and looked down and saw my camera... And guess what???? First thing was. Is that the new k-5. I said yes. Then to my utter amazement he said. Yea we all have been reading about it. They asked me a few questions and shot a few shots with it and my 500mm sigma.
Then one of the canon 7d guys said. Well my 7d is very bad above ISO800. And all agreed that had the 7d. Then we did our usual shooting and talking about birds...

First time in my birding days has that happened. Made me feel pretty g.d. good actually..

01-26-2011, 01:53 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Yeah, my comrade who has a 7D looks at my K5 with some amount of envy. It's more what he wants in a camera than the 7D is in many respects.
01-26-2011, 04:10 AM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Wheatfield Quote
It's more what he wants in a camera than the 7D is in many respects.
What are those things your comrade is looking for in a camera that the K-5 has and the 7D hasn't?

I'm genuinely interested in his thoughts.
01-26-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter